Every year, the LGBTQ Interest Group awards prizes for the *top student and *top faculty research papers. Each award comes with a certificate and a cash honorarium.

In 2015, Heidi Mau (Temple University) won the *Top Student research award; Joe Cabosky & Rhonda Gibson (UNC Chapel Hill) won the *Top Faculty research award. Heidi (left) and Rhonda (right) are pictured below with 2014-15 Research Chair Laurie Honda.

On special occasions, based on nominations, we also present the Leroy Aarons Award, which honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the promotion and inclusion of GLBT materials in education and research. The award is named after Roy F. Aarons, who was a reporter for the Washington Post and vice president of news for the Oakland Tribune. He later taught at the University of Southern California and founded the National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association, an organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students who work to foster fair and accurate coverage of GLBT issues.  Aarons died in 2004. Past winners include Loren Ghiglione, Larry Gross, Ed Alwood and Rodger Streitmatter.

In 2015, Gust Yep (San Francisco State) received the award. He is pictured below leading a conversation among Interest Group members during the AEJMC members’ meeting after receiving the award.